CTCPA Annual Meeting 2018


View photos from the evening.

More than 200 CTCPA members and guests attended the 2018 CTCPA Annual Meeting, braving storm-damaged roads to attend the event at Cascade in Hamden. The facility was running on generator power at the beginning of the evening following powerful storms in the area the previous evening.

Congratulations to Susan Martinelli of RSM, who took over the CTCPA presidency from Brad Kronstat of Connecticut Gardens, as well as the rest of the 2018-2019 CTCPA Board and Advisory Council members. In addition, Edwin Muenzner of Edwin Muenzner, CPA was honored with the Jack Brooks Leadership Award for his outstanding work on behalf of the Connecticut accounting profession.

Past Presidents Phil DeCaprio, Joe Germain, and Ralph Takala also brought back a favorite CTCPA tradition, presenting the "Award of the Ribbons" to past presidents John Turgeon of CohnReznick, Ann Jevne of Resnick Advisors, Gregory Lainas of Robert Half Management Resources, Noelle Taddei of Post University, Camille Murphy of Murphy & Company, Brian Kelleher of FML, Bruce Blasnik of PKF O’Connor Davies, and Bob Boudreau of Novak Francella.

Keynote speaker Barry Melancon, CEO of the Association of International Certified Professional Accountants, spoke about "Accounting in Extraordinary Times." According to Barry, the accounting profession will be unrecognizable in 10 years, thanks in large part to some of the technologies that are bringing disruptive change to not only the accounting profession, but our entire world as we know it. Cybersecurity, blockchain, artificial intelligence, data analytics, and cognitive technologies are on course to radically alter the way businesses perform compliance, tax, and financial forecasting functions.

Thank you to our sponsors.  We couldn't do it without you!