Essential Event: 2011 CSCPA Annual Meeting

The third annual Essential Event unfolded on May 23, 2011 in front of a full house at the Aqua Turf Club!

Speakers included media personalities Colin McEnroe and Laurence Cohen, forensic science extraordinaire Dr. Henry Lee, and Connecticut Governor Dannel Malloy.

The annual business meeting was also held, during which the new leadership was installed and the first annual Jack Brooks Leadership Award was presented to Pam Weaver.

Colin McEnroe and Laurence Cohen
Annual CSCPA Business Meeting
Dr. Henry Lee
Governor Dannel Malloy

President Marcia Marien welcomes the crowd to the Essential Event.



Connecticut at the Crossroads: A Dialogue About Direction

Colin McEnroe and Laurence Cohen, moderated by John Turgeon, CPA

Colin McEnroe


Laurence Cohen


John Turgeon





Annual Business Meeting

The annual business meeting followed a delicious lunch.


Marien thanks the membership for a great year.


Marien presents Pam Weaver with the Jack Brooks Leadership Award.



Weaver's name will be displayed on a plaque at the CSCPA office. Jack Brooks, CSCPA executive director from 1964 to 1996, passed away on August 29, 2010; the award will be given annually in his memory.


Turgeon reads the Nominating Committee report.


Turgeon introduces the new president, Greg Lainas.


Lainas presents the official gavel plaque to Past President Marien.



Lainas presents a thank you gift to Marien and her husband (and business partner) Tom.


Lainas makes his first official remarks as CSCPA president.


Lessons Learned from Famous Cases

Dr. Henry Lee

Dr. Henry Lee



Lee performs a quick experiment on Lainas.



Lee had the crowd laughing through much of his speech - often by poking fun at CSCPA leadership!



State of the State

Governor Dannel Malloy

Governor Dannel Malloy


Advisory Council and Governmental Issues Taskforce Chair Mike Kraten moderated the session, taking audience questions.


Executive Director Art Renner closed the meeting.


Thanks to our sponsors...




... And our participants!