Annual Meeting 2006

The Connecticut Society of CPAs 2006 Annual Meeting was held on May 8, 2006 at the Aqua Turf Club in Plantsville.

CSCPA Annual Business Meeting


Leaders of Connecticut's accounting community prepare to call the meeting to order. Pictured from left are Alan Clavette, CSCPA Executive Director Art Renner, Thomas Reynolds, Dr. Patricia Poli, and John Palmeri. 


Almost 250 CSCPA members registered for the 2006 Annual Meeting.


2005-2006 CSCPA Treasurer John J. Palmeri presents the Treasurer's Report.


2005-2006 CSCPA President Dr. Patricia M. Poli reflects on her year in office.


Newly inaugurated 2006-2007 CSCPA President Alan J. Clavette outlines his agenda.        


Dr. Poli (right) accepts her Past President Pin and Gavel Plaque from Mr. Clavette.


Featured Speakers

Thomas F. Reynolds, CPA Chair, Connecticut State Board of Accountancy: "Connecticut State Board of Accountancy Update"


State Senator John McKinney, Senate Minority Leader Pro Tempore: "A Review of the 2006 General Assembly"


John J. Patrick, President and CEO, TD Banknorth Connecticut: "Connecticut Business Outlook"


Award Presentations

The "Connecticut Accounting Leadership Scholarship" is a $5,000 scholarship established by the CSCPA Educational Trust Fund with the support of the Connecticut offices of the firms of Ernst & Young LLP, KPMG LLP, Deloitte & Touche LLP, and PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP. The scholarship assists students majoring in accounting at Connecticut institutions of higher education in financing their college education.

Educational Trust Fund Chair Charles J. Frago, CPA presented the scholarships.


Gina Anastasio, Quinnipiac University


Amanda Gravenhorst, Sacred Heart University


Katherine Lucca, Fairfield University (right), accompanied by CSCPA 2005-2006 President and Fairfield University Professor Dr. Patricia M. Poli, CPA.   


Diana Teixeira, University of Bridgeport

Relations with Colleges and Universities Committee Chair Richard Dumont presented “CSCPA Merit Awards” to the top-ranking graduating senior majoring in accounting from each of the Connecticut colleges and universities offering an accounting program recognized by the Connecticut State Board of Accountancy to qualify students to sit for the Uniform CPA Examination.

Tina Gaboury, Albertus Magnus College


David Granata, University of New Haven


Gina Guarino, Eastern Connecticut State University


Kelsea Hill, Sacred Heart University


Michelle Kelfkens, Western Connecticut State University


George Kruglov, University of Connecticut


Joseph Lombardo, Central Connecticut State University


Richard Massaro, Quinnipiac University


Michael Tavares, Southern Connecticut State University


Diana Teixeira, University of Bridgeport

Not pictured are Samantha Christian of Fairfield University, Darlene Rich of Post University,
and Michael J. Whitbeck of the University of Hartford.

The meeting was followed by a reception to honor New Connecticut CPAs.