background image
Connecticut CPA
March/April 2016
Among the new scholarships to be implemented in the spring of 2016 are:
The Educational Trust Fund of the Connecticut Society of
CPAs has provided scholarships to Connecticut accounting
students for more than 60 years. Over the last year, a task
force conducted a comprehensive review of the scholarship
programs, internal operations, and development strategies.
While some scholarship programs have been discontinued,
many new high-dollar awards have been introduced to help
ensure that awards given are meaningful and match the
financial environment in which students now operate.
Recipients of this scholarship may renew the award for
an additional $5,000 when going from their junior to
senior year in college, for a potential total of $10,000
over the lifetime of this scholarship.
At least one Rising Junior Scholarship will be
designated annually for a community college student
transferring to a four-year college or university.
In addition to the scholarships listed above, the Educational
Trust Fund will retain the Frank Frago Community Service
Scholarship (fall), the Children of CTCPA Members Schol-
arship (fall), scholarships for Connecticut high school stu-
dents (spring), and grants to the various four-year account-
ing clubs and Beta Alpha Psi chapters (fall), and increase the
Candidate's Scholarship to $5,000 (to be available beginning
in spring 2017).
The Diversity Scholarship, Junior Scholarship, Merit Schol-
arship, and grants to the accounting departments of four-
year Connecticut college and universities will be discontin-
ued, while the community college scholarship program will
be rolled into the new undergraduate scholarship offerings.
CTCPA Educational Trust Fund
Unveils New Scholarship Slate
Find scholarship
applications online at
The application deadline
for these new scholarships
is April 15.
This $5,000 scholarship will
be awarded to one college
junior entering his or her
senior year.
This $1,500 scholarship will
be awarded to four college
freshmen entering their
sophomore year.
This $5,000 scholarship will be
awarded to three college
sophomores entering their
junior year.
Educational Trust Fund Review Task Force
Thank you to these members for your time, insight, and
innovation on this important project to help tomorrow's
CPAs ... today!
Pat M. Poli (Chair)
Marie L. Benedetto
Gregory A. Lainas
Dennis W. Cole
Edwin R. Muenzner
Lawrence J. Gramling
Mark A. Caplan
The Rising
The Rising
The Rising