background image
Connecticut's newest CPAs, who received their
CPA certificates from Connecticut State Board of
Accountancy member Timothy Egan, CPA as well as
Secretary of the State Denise Merrill and Department
of Consumer Protection Commissioner Jonathan
Harris, who were both in attendance to represent the
State Board of Accountancy's July 1 transition from the
Office of the Secretary of the State to the Department of
Consumer Protection (see page 4 for more).
Educational Trust Fund Scholarship recipients, who
received their awards from CTCPA Educational Trust
Fund trustees Matt Piechota, CPA (chair) of Chase
Collegiate School, Katherine McNair, CPA of PKF
O'Connor Davies, and John Turgeon, CPA, HCS of
John Turgeon also presented the 2016 Educators of
Excellence "Eddys" awards to Jennifer Oliver, CPA of
Quinebaug Valley Community College
and Ross Riskin,
CPA/PFS, CCPS of Albertus Magnus College.
An evening celebrating the path to the profession.
It was a festive night of celebration at the May Recognition Reception, an evening celebrating the path to the
profession, held at the Aqua Turf Club in Plantsville. Congratulations to the following who were honored:
High School Accounting Scholarship Winners
Educational Trust Fund trustees presented scholarships to high school students from around the state, all of whom plan
to major in accounting in college.
(front row, from left) Alexandra Urban Farmington High School, Sarah Spillane Newtown High School, Sarah Schatz Edwin O. Smith High School,
Madisyn Silva Pomperaug High School, (back row, from left) Matthew Garcia RHAM High School, Matthew Mayotte Killingly High School,
Brittany Solleck Bristol Eastern High School, David Bigos South Windsor High School, and Quinn Sinay Norwich Free Academy. Unable to attend
were Amy Sumsion of Manchester High School and Daniel Brill of Staples High School.
More photos at