Education Requirements

 

 


 

Education Requirements

Connecticut CPA licensees: The deadline for obtaining CPE credit toward the annual requirement of 40 hours is June 30. The Connecticut State Board of Accountancy may impose a penalty if you do not obtain the necessary credits by that date.

Are you a Connecticut CPA licensee?
You need:
40 hours of CPE annually.

  • CPAs who are licensed in the state of Connecticut must complete 40 hours of CPE between July 1 and June 30.

    Each license holder must also meet an ethics requirement of four hours every three years. Such requirement may be met through any course covering ethical behavior and the understanding of the State and National Code of Conduct, Professional Conduct, and State Licensing Regulations.

    CPAs are exempt from the CPE requirement for the initial period of July 1 to June 30 during which they are first licensed.

    To receive a complete set of these regulations, visit the State Board of Accountancy website or call the Connecticut State Board of Accountancy at 860-713-6100.

Are you a Connecticut CPA licensee?
You need:
Four hours of ethics-focused CPE every three years. 

  • CPAs must take a four-hour ethics course every three years. The Board has issued a clarification as to how the three year cycle is determined. The obligation for subsequent courses must be met within three years of the close of the license year that the last course was taken. As an example, if a licensee last took the course in December, 2011, the end of that license year is June 2012. In this case, the licensee must take another course before June 2015. This requirement may be met through any course covering ethical behavior and the understanding of the State and National Code of Conduct, Professional Conduct, and State Licensing Regulations.

    CTCPA offers a variety of live ethics seminars every year in addition to self-study and online ethics options. Check out your options!

Are you a Connecticut CPA licensee who performs attest/compilation services or signs financial statements?
You need:
 Eight hours of financial statement preparation/reporting CPE annually.

  • Any certified public accountant license holder who performs attest or compilation services or who signs financial statements on behalf of the firm must earn eight hours of the annual 40 hours of CPE in the subject areas of financial statement preparation and reporting.
     
    This requirement became effective for the CPE year beginning July 1, 2010. 

Are you a governmental auditor?
You need:
 
80 hours of CPE that contributes to professional proficiency (including 24 hours in subjects directly related to the government environment and government auditing) every two years.

  • Auditors responsible for planning, directing, conducting, or reporting on governmental audits, including audits of government funds received by nonprofit organizations, must complete, every two years, at least 80 hours of CPE that contributes to their professional proficiency (with a minimum of 20 hours each year).

    Auditors responsible for planning, directing, and conducting substantial portions of the fieldwork or reporting on a government audit must complete at least 24 of the 80 hours in subjects directly related to the government environment and to government auditing.

    A complete set of these regulations is available on the GAO’s website at www.gao.gov.